Local Idaho Primary Election Results

The November general election races in Idaho have been set following Tuesday’s primary.  Local State Senator Dan Foreman won the Republican primary defeating challenger Marshall Comstock.  Foreman received 51% of the vote and will face Democrat David Nelson this Fall.  Bill Goesling won the Republican primary for the local state representative seat held by Democrat Margie Gannon.  Goesling won with 60% of the vote over Hari Heath.  Democrat Laurene Sorensen won the primary to face local State Representative Republican Caroline Nilsson Troy this Fall.  Sorensen received 85% of the vote over Terry Hardman.  Peggy Gottschalk defeated 3 other Republicans in the primary for Latah County Treasurer.  She will face Democrat B.J. Swanson in the general election for the open seat.

All 3 local small taxing district levies passed.  The City of Troy’s request to sell water revenue bonds for water system upgrades received 73% approval.  The Troy School District levy passed with 76% of the vote while the Whitepine School District levy in Deary received 66% approval.